Adults Driver's License
We know getting a driver's license can be a confusing process, and being an adult sometimes makes it more difficult. So, we are dedicated to providing our students with the knowledge and services they need to go from a learner's permit to obtaining a CT driver's license. As you are about to see, there is not another driving school in Stamford, Greenwich, New Canaan, Darien, Norwalk or anywhere in Connecticut offering new adult drivers this level of commitment and support.
On this page, you will find licensing information specific to the Connecticut DMV's requirements:
- Learner's Permit - information and ways we can help
- 8-Hour Drug and Alcohol classes - for students 18 & older
- Driving Lessons - how you can sign up
- Use our Car at the DMV - services provided and requirements
To Enroll in our Adult 8-Hour Class Review the Calendar Below. Select the Day or Days that Work for You, Click on the Class and You'll be Taken to the Enrollment Area - Additional Services are Listed Under the Calendar
What You Need to Know
All first-time CT driver’s license applicants need to obtain a CT Learner’s Permit.
Please know, the rules and requirements are different for 16 and 17-year-olds than adults.
We offer the 8-Hour Drug & Alcohol class in several languages. For Spanish, please click the Espanol button above. For Polish (8 godzinny Kurs Bezpiecznej Jazdy w Jezyku Polskim)
To be issued a Learner’s Permit you will need to pass both a knowledge and a vision test. Plus, you will need to provide the proper forms of identification. To learn more about what’s necessary to obtain a learner’s permit, click here.
To prepare for the written driver's exam, students need to study the CT Driver Manual. The test is 25-questions, and you will need to answer 20 correctly to pass the test. Unfortunately, many people find studying the manual difficult. It's hard to isolate the content you do not know.
So, we've taken all the information that could be on the test and put it in the same question and answer format used by the CT DMV. If you are interested in the book, please click here.
After holding your permit for 120-days you will be eligible to take the on-road portion of the driving test. At your road test, you must present a CS-1 certificate. The CS-1 certificate proves you have completed an 8-Hour Drug & Alcohol/Safe Driving Practices Course. To see our schedule and enroll in this class.
Note: many students find this class helpful when they take their knowledge test, and they take this class before applying for a learner’s permit.
Keep in mind, the CS-1 certificate you will receive for the completion of the 8-hour class never expires.
Connecticut Driver's Manual
Download a copy of the Manual - CT Driver Manual
Use Our Car at the DMV
You can use our car for your driver's test! We can pick you up, let you use our car, and bring you home, or meet you there with the car, whichever you prefer.
By law, to be able to use our car you must have done at least 2-hours of driving instruction in our car, with one of our teachers.
But, don't wait to the last minute, let us know when your test is as soon as you make your driving test appointment.