We're always happy to answer your questions, and we've created this page to help answer some frequently asked questions.
Is this the DMV?
No, we are not the DMV, and we can not provide DMV services (except for license testing for 16 to 21-year-olds). If you need to contact the DMV here is their phone number - 860-263-5700 (Within Hartford area or outside of Connecticut) - 800-842-8222 (Elsewhere in Connecticut). DMV employees are available Monday through Friday 8a to 4p. Tip: the best day of the week to call them is Wednesday! For License Suspension questions you can email the DMV at: firstname.lastname@example.org or call (860) 263-5720. If you need to take the Operator Retraining program, click here. Need insurance compliance suspension information, call (860) 263-5735.
Do you speak Spanish?
Yes, we have teachers and support staff who are fluent in Spanish.
What are your classroom & driving policies?
Classroom - we are regulated by the CT DMV, and we must provide the proper amount of training. Therefore, lateness CAN NOT be tolerated. Arrive early for class. If the door is locked, you will not be allowed to enter the class, NO EXCEPTIONS. If you miss a class contact us, during office hours to discuss your options.
Driving - you MUST provide at least 24-hours notice to cancel a driving lesson without paying a $40 late cancellation fee. If, we arrive to take you on your driving lesson, and you do not have your permit (your actual permit, not a copy) you will be charged the late cancellation fee.
What happens if it's snowing and I have a class or driving lesson?
Classroom cancellations will be announced via email, on our website and there will be a message on our phone system. Driving lessons will be held weather permitted.
What forms of payment do you accept and do you take partial payments?
We accept cash, check and credit cards (Visa, Amex, Mastercard, and Discover). Returned check fee is $25.00. We will be happy to extend a payment arrangement for students taking the Full Teen Course, all other services must be paid in full prior to services rendered.
How can I see when I'm scheduled for a class or driving lesson?
All students registered for classroom or on-road training have an account in our student portal. At any time you can log in, and see what you have scheduled. To log-in from a computer, click here. To log-in from your phone, click here.
Does my child need their Learner's Permit to start your program?
No, a student does not need their learner's permit to start our program. By law, anyone taking driver education in the state of Connecticut must be at least 16-years old. Note, anyone taking driving lessons MUST have their CT Learner's Permit. To get more information about obtaining a Learner's Permit click here for 16 & 17-year-olds, if you're 18 or older, click here.
Do I need my permit before I take the 8-Hour Drug & Alcohol/Safe Driving Practices Class?
No, you do not need a permit to take the 8-Hour Class. In fact, some students find it beneficial to take the 8-Hour class BEFORE taking their learner's permit test.
Can I obtain a CT Learner's Permit through your school?
No, you must go through a CT DMV branch to obtain a Learner's Permit. Also, you must have an appointment to take the Permit Test, click here to make your appointment.
Can I take my Driving License test at your School?
Yes, if you are between 16 and 21 years old. Unfortunately, students who are 22-years old, or older must take their driving license test at one of the CT DMV branches that do testing. The Norwalk DMV branch does not offer these services. To make your appointment for the driving test, click here.
How long do I have to hold my learner's permit?
It depends on your age and the type of driver training you've taken. If you're under 18 and have taken just the 8-Hour class, you must have held your permit for at least 180-days. If you complete our Full Teen Course you can test after holding your permit for just 120-days. Adults (over 18) must hold their permit for at least 90-days. Note - the number of days you must hold your permit must be met, so be sure you've added 1 to the above holding days before you schedule your test! For example, if you take our Full Teen Class, you CAN NOT test on the 120th day, but you can on the 121st.
How many hours of driving instruction are required before I can test, how many do you recommend?
Sixteen and seventeen-year-olds must complete at least 40-hours of in-car instruction. All driving done with a parent can be applied to this requirement. For adults, there are no state requirements, but it is advisable that everyone testing for a license has had at least 40-hours of training.
What happens if I miss a class?
To complete the training you will need to make that class up. You can not take the same class (our classes are numbered/lettered) more than once to complete a course. So you must make up the class you've missed.
Do you offer discounts?
The only discount we offer is for driving lessons taken by our classroom students. If you take your classroom training elsewhere, you will pay more to take driving lessons with us. Also, unfortunately, we do not offer discounts for siblings or other family members.
What's the difference between the Full Teen Course, and taking just the 8-Hour Class?
LOTS! Sixteen and seventeen-year-olds who take our Full Teen Course can test sooner, can be eligible for insurance discounts and more, get all the details here.
Can I enroll in the 8-Hour class without pre-paying?
No, to ensure we have room for every student we require payment to hold a seat. But, we do welcome walk-ins. And since we offer so many classes, we usually can accommodate walk-ins. If you plan on enrolling the day of the class, please be at our classroom 30-minutes before the scheduled starting time of the class.
Can you pick me up for my driving lesson?
Of Course! We don't understand why other driving schools will not do this? We will pick up, and drop off ANYWHERE locally.
Can I start Driver's Ed before I turn 16?
No, Connecticut state law requires students to be 16-years-old or older before taking ANY kind of driver education.
Parent Class - how does that work?
Every new license holder, who's under eighteen years old, must attend a 2-hour class with their parent. For our Full Teen students this is Class #14, for Teen Drug & Alcohol (8-hour only) students this class is the first 2-hours of the 'B' class. Only one parent can attend the class and a seat must be reserved. Full Teen parents can reserve their seat by following the instructions on this page. Teen Drug & Alcohol students are reserved one seat when they enroll in the class. Students 18 & older do not need to be accompanied by a parent for this class, even if they are on their parent's car insurance.
What do I need to have for my driving lesson?
You must have your permit, the one issued by the DMV. If you wear glasses or contacts you must have them. Additionally, be sure you are wearing the proper footwear. Closed-toed shoes are needed, you can not wear flip-flops or sandals.
Who can be in the car during my lesson?
There will only be our instructor and the student in the car during a driving lesson. We do not put multiple students in the car, and we do not allow parents or interpreters to be present for a driving lesson.
What are the graduated license restrictions?
New license holders who are under 18 must adhere to the state's graduated license laws. Click here to review the restrictions and regulations.
What to bring to your Offsite Driving Test at our School?
Be sure to bring your permit, glasses or contacts if needed, and wear closed -toed shoes or sneakers. Your paperwork will already be completed and waiting for the DMV inspector. Unfortunately, at the request of the DMV, parents are not allowed to be in attendance.
I'm testing at the DMV in my Car, what are the vehicle requirements?
The DMV has specific insurance, registration, and maintenance requirements that must be met to use a car for your driving test. Click here for the details. Note, you can not use a rental car, and they are very specific about the degree of tinting on windows. If your vehicle is deemed either unsafe, not in proper working order or fails their inspection you will not be allowed to test, and you will lose your test appointment. If you are unsure about your vehicle's ability to pass or meet the DMV's requirements you should consider using one of our cars, get the details now!